MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Movember Jasmine

This is my S2000 car club mate Chip. He has spent 2013 stripping his car down, replacing lots of parts and rebuilding it. It was grey but is now vanilla ice cream with chocolate wheels. Gorgeous.

Six years ago he discovered that he had testicular cancer. He had surgery and chemo and is now in remission. He knows too well the importance of early diagnosis and this year has taken the Movember challenge for the first time and has already raised lots of money for the cause.

I noticed that the pics on his site had been taken with the incorrect white balance. He looked as though he had jaundice. I suggested that I should take some snaps of his moustache to show it off to good effect. I visited this afternoon with my props. A dead wasp, a dead fly and a cactus flower. My plan was to do a macro of his whiskers with flowers and insects looking as though they were living in his man garden.

I had trouble keeping the insects in place. He wanted to wear the beautiful fedora that he had bought in Lisbon. We replaced the cactus flower with a winter jasmine from his garden. I think he looks really cool sitting in the oak garden room that he built himself. :)

Just before I left he showed me his hand. It was hot, red and swollen. Had my long dead, mummified wasp stung him? He is very sensitive to insect stings and his wife immediately gave him some of his special tablets. I was relieved to hear on my return that he was fine and hadn't gone into anaphylactic shock as I had feared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.