The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Psychedelic Saturday

Guess who forgot to take her camera out today? Pip and Mary, old friends of ours, came up from Bristol today. After coffee, Pip drove Mary and I to nearby Stafford Milll, which is (guess what?) an old textile mill with some working industries and artists' studios. I wanted to get some more cards from Bill Jones, whom I have blipped here.

Was a bit gutted that I'd forgotten my camera. as there was an amazing silk weaver with a free standing hand loom, making beautiful silk scarves. He will be there tomorrow, so I suppose I could go back. My maternal grandmother was a weaver who wove Harris tweed. After her death, we found some tweed in her weaving chest, and my brother Ruaraidh took it to Afghanistan (where he was based at the time) and had it made into a jacket.

Later, Mary and I walked along the canal (though part of the towpath is closed again, GRRRR) to Stroud, where we did an exhaustive reccy of the charity shops, junk shops, a vintage shop, etc, etc. We had lunch at Mr Twitchett's, my favourite caff for coffee and a bacon sandwich, outside the Subscription rooms. My best charity find was a red jacket, but I also bought a red top and this flame coloured dress, which looks like something my mother would have worn in 1971, though hers would have been banana-yellow!

I made Mary take a pic of me when we got home, seeing as I did not have a blip. Now I think the dress needs a belt and some black tights. And possibly a 1970s party as an excuse...

PS On this day last year the colour scheme was the same!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.