Table for 10

We had a lovely night out in Manchester tonight with for me at least a group of strangers.
The evening was arranged by (and for the benefit of) a lovely lady called Stef.

Stef is from Berlin, but spent a few years in the UK, which is where she met Mr A (13 years ago). They have been friends ever since & as she told me tonight, time often passes where they don't speak (& obviously with geographics, they don't see each other as often as they'd like) but as soon as they make contact, it's like no time has passed. That to me is the sign of a great friendship.

I've heard so much about Stef, and her best friend Suzi, and evidently they have heard lots about me, so it was great (albeit a bit nerve wracking) to finally meet them. (Suzi is on the left of the photo nearest the camera; Stef is on the right furthest away from the camera)
I think it says a lot about Stef's character, that we all happily met up; as relative strangers, to spend time in her company. Nice too that she didn't want to exclude anyone from her brief visit. She made sure she managed to speak to us all at some point over the evening. I would have loved just a little longer to chat with her, but we have an open invitation to stay with her anytime. This is something to look forward to for next year for sure.

What sticks with me most from this evening is the fact that after initial introductions had been made, Stef took me to one side and said 'if I don't get chance to tell you later, I want to say thank you for making Mr A so happy.'
The pleasure is all mine Stef!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.