Tractorama

The name given to this morning's gathering of tractors at Snells Beach. They were mostly older tractors.

There were two tractors which had been "hot-rodded", judging by their appearance. One, a large blue tractor called "Heavy Metal" was driven off a large truck and then parked in the car park which was the centre of the gathering. I didn't find out what make it was.

The other was a Nuffield Universal which had had a whole new engine bay put in front of the old front of the tractor, and had a massive V8 motor with gleaming chrome exhaust pipes out each side. The modification had lengthened the tractor considerably, and to provide strength it had large iron framing around the engine bay, onto the front of which was attached the radiator and grille.

Although I was tempted to blip that one, I chose this as it looks as if it has had a fairly faithful restoration. The fellows who told me that it is a Farmall, based that (in part) on the colour it has been painted. The seat remains a simple metal bucket, with minimal (or no) springing. The gear change (by the steering column) looks a major challenge to run.

Knowing this was on, I deferred my run until later in the morning, when the tide was better for bird photography also, in order to have a little look. I have stayed with the plan of blipping a tractor today, partly because that was the difference about today from most days, and partly because I wasn't that satisfied with any of shots of heron, shag, duck, gull or shelduck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.