Fall Potluck Dinner

At St. Joseph's (little) church we enjoy one potluck dinner per quarter. I spent a major portion of the day creating a cherry-cranberry pie. The pie crust was a killer. I haven't made a pie in a long while and I am out of practice. Also, I was trying this new pie crust using vodka to drive back the gluten which will make it more flakey. Then I read a comment that using cider or white vinegar would do the same thing.
I checked and we have no vodka in the house so vinegar it was.
Now I wonder: can you have to much of a good thing? Or to put it another way : can pie crust be too flakey?
Answer: I think so. this one distracted me and did not compliment the filling that well.
But this blip is about the dinner. Fabulous!
Loud and happy crowd. Part of them are pictured here. I got so involved with eating and talking that I forgot to snap any photos until near the end.
I got a ride to and from the church from a dear good neighbour. He got the rest of the pie for his trouble coming back to the church hall to pick me up when I called him. Come to find out this is one of his very favourite pies. (His wife is the one who gave me the recipe).
And no, I did not take a photo of my pie... forgot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.