Inheritance

I found this water jug and set of six glasses in the loft recently. They were in a box, and each one was carefully wrapped in a page of the Leeds Weekly News, dated August 15th 1985. They were labelled as coming from Normous' godmother, his Auntie Floss. They are so pretty, I can't think why we have never used them! I think maybe our tastes have changed since the plainer lines of the 1980s. Now Normous says he is going to turn out his glasses cupboard to make room for them.
In order to set them up for their blip, I found a piece of linen with a lace edging. This too is inherited, this time from my side of the family. It is marked with the surname of my stepfather, and has my mother's laundry mark on it. Imagine sending something as delicate as this to the laundry! Today, to show it off, I spray starched it and ironed it. The things we do for blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.