Three High Constables of Leith

Today I met a friend of mine for a coffee at the Shore. We sat outside, on a terrace, braving the cold weather. As we were having our coffee, we saw these guys, so I decided to approach them and take a picture of them. They told me that they were Leith Constables and that they were there for a memorial service. They belong to the Society of High Constables of Edinburgh, which is divided into 23 wards, with 12 members in each.

The Wreath Laying Ceremony took place around the Merchant Navy Memorial, which was founded in 2009 to commemorate the sacrifice by Scottish Merchant Navy personnel in the two World Wars, other previous and subsequent theatres of conflict, and in peacetime service along the trading routes of the world. It was sculpted by Jill Watson. It's a column surrounded by cast bronze reliefs and sculptures representing a historical selection of merchant ships, details of perils at sea and men performing different trades around the world.

Me and my friend decided to stay for the service.

As we were standing in the cold for a while, my fingers and toes became numb, so we went into a pub so I coud have a whisky and get my senses back. It did the trick!

After that, we went home. Then it started to rain. Looks like we were really lucky!

This evening I'm planning to make a banana and chocolate chip loaf, see how it turns out!

Thanks very much for all your lovely comments yesterday! I hope you all had a good weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.