West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Drifting

There was a low mist and heavy frost this morning. Shamefully I was not motivated to do any work for uni and as I sit typing up my journal entry I still cannot bring myself to start. I am still not enjoying the course at all, but with the support of my friend and calming words I have bitten my tongue and continued to work when I can, but often tiredness overtakes me.

After yesterdays emergency Blip I managed to slip away and shoot on the river today, it was not my intended venue for today but the banks of slowly moving mist put paid to my plans again. This huge log has been moving along the shore with the ebb and flow of the tides in recent weeks and today it was nearing the point where I start to walk along the river. Even later in the day the frost still lingered on the top of the log, glistening, inviting a simple beauty calling to be captured before the low sun melted the diamond like twinkles away.

I shot a few frames, the more I looked at the log, the more I seemed to see the shpe of some primordial animal emerging from the river trying to escape the cold of the water and seek solace on the foreshore. Maybe it appealed to the child inside me, the child that enjoys the simple things in life, walking on crisp cold mornings, the warmth of summer rain, the love of friends...

So it is tonight, the twins are settled, I have a mug of steaming tea and reflect on the time I was able to share with my friend today,the simplest of pleasures, the sound of their voice lifting me, the smile I feel spreading across my face when I see their name on my phone, I shoot the river for them, a little vision of home and a shared passion for this place that we hold so dear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.