Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Remember Poloroid?

DDW's November Challenge Day 18: "Something you do every day"

There really was no choice here, the one thing (that I dare to photograph) that I do every day is of course to take a photograph. Some of my earliest memories of photography are with a Polaroid camera. I recall the fascination of seeing the picture emerge from the front of the camera already developed. Something we take for granted in the digital age but back then, it was a revelation.

Unfortunately, I don't have a Polaroid camera, so I had to fake the effect using the oldest camera I do have, a Yashica Range Finder which is remarkably similar in style to the Fuji X10 I have just given my nephew. Funny how we still yearn for something that looks and feels like a camera of old even down to reproducing the sound of a mechanical shutter.

Lovely dinner with Rachel and Ross last night. Must stop inviting them round. It leads to an excess of eating. Not good for me and especially not good for Rachel who wants to slim down for her wedding. No date set yet. I've told Ross to plot Rachel's weight loss on a graph, use the trend line to predict when she will reach her target weight and book the wedding accordingly. That way, she can peak like an athlete :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.