Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Shopping list intact

I made a return trip to the DIY store of yesterday, only this time, I was armed with money, cards, and a long list of desired items.

And I came out half an hour later with not one item… There seemed to be nothing from the list - or else I just wasn’t in the correct aisles, and soon lost interest.

However, on the way back I stopped at Duddingston Loch, bathed in late afternoon sunshine. All the swans, cygnets, ducks and geese saw me coming down the steps and rushed towards me cackling gaggling excitedly. I felt bad that I hadn’t brought any food. Next time.

I walked nearer to two swans fluffing themselves up at each other - looked gorgeous in the sunshine, and I suddenly realised I was surrounded by big swans. I just stood there watching them all for ages. Very peaceful. And cold.

Then this swan had a wing stretch, and I hadn’t realised how close I was - I took a burst as I stepped back hurriedly. This is near the end the whoosh. Boy! That WHOOSH is loud!

I then went to another DIY shop and got a halogen bulb and a dish brush. So it was a most moderately successful day.

JR’s puffy eyes are not quite so puffy, but the skin under them was a delicate vivid shade of purple all weekend. The doctor was visited this morning and cream is being administered.

I won’t mention the rugby…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.