Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sunset. 3:45pm

No Zoo Day again this week - this is becoming a habit. I had a visit from someone who couldn’t be put off.

Last night Archie was hanging his head to the side and shaking it a lot. Ear trouble! Had a look, and it looks clean and healthy enough. So observed him this morning. Seemed fine at first, then he started hanging it down again. Rang the vet and booked in an appointment.

Throughout the morning he was dashing about without a care in the world. Seemed all right again. Rang and cancelled the appointment (in good time). Will keep an eye on it tonight.

He’s such a wee devil in the morning. I am not allowed to stay in bed once JR has departed. Archie sits on my stomach, staring into my eyes, as close he possibly can, willing me to get up and play with, or at the very least, feed him! He sits up on my shoulder. He puts his paws either side of my head, lays his chin on the top of my head and tries to suffocate me with his wee hairy chest. He chews my ears. He pulls my dressing gown cord. He rolls around on top of me so that I can’t read the papers on my iPad.

When I eventually stick one foot out of the duvet - he goes crazy - licking and nibbling it! Then another foot - double delirious! Tail whizzing round like a propeller. When my feet hit the rug - at the same time as him - he’s beside himself with joy. Success!

A great way to get up in the mornings, no matter what the time.

In the afternoon we went up the Hill. No vomit. This has been several times now. Is he over the car sickness?

We were in time to just miss the sunset. But we almost got it. So I’m afraid my B&W challenge will have to wait yet another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.