Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Double Archie

I awoke to the sad news that the former All Black Jonah Lomu had died suddenly, aged 40. He chose not to follow the path of so many of the young men with his tough upbringing - gangs and violence. As well as his exceptional skills on the rugby field, he was humble and had time for everyone - an inspiration to all.

I first became aware of him while on holiday in the West Coast of Scotland in 1995. I'd been over in Scotland for an extended stay with my father, doing a six week block of teaching, then borrowing my dad's car - he'd done the same with my car many years earlier, to 'do' the South Island, NZ (and he brought it back with a dent in the front bumper, I seem to remember).

The 1995 Rugby World Cup was on, so I'd make sure I was in a pub at the next destination, having a pub lunch, with a good seat in front of the TV, for most games.

The All Black/England game was imminent - I had to speed over the brand new Skye Bridge, (though I've checked and the Skye Bridge was apparently opened in October that year - perhaps that was the 'official' opening) rush to check into the hostel, find the nearest pub with TV, and hurry to get a good seat. This time, the bar was full of noisy punters watching horse racing on TV. But thankfully, in the lounge bar there was only one customer propped up at the bar in front of the TV. No horse racing on this one - rugby!

I can still see that try where Lomu just ran over Mike Catt as if he wasn't there. Who was this man? I'd been out of NZ for several months, so hadn't followed developments in the ABs.

I was lucky enough to meet him a few years later. He came to the school (in NZ) I was teaching at to speak to the pupils. I took photos, had some printed and got them signed through a friend who knew him. I gave them as prizes in the various school competitions I organised. I hope those kids who won a signed photo still treasure it.

I taught in the same tough area of South Auckland that Jonah grew up in, though I was just before his time.

RIP Jonah

PS: Archie is admiring his photo on my new toy. Look how big it is! He will never be this near the iPad Pro again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.