Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

World's End

Did lots of indoor jobs this morning. Archie continued his new found fun of chewing the tassels on the hall rugs. I sprayed them with lemony dog deterrent. Did it deter him? No. I folded them over so that he wasn't tempted. They are very tempting tassels...

Found a dog sitting website (as opposed to kennels) and may try leaving the lad for a weekend and go off to a luxury hotel. Or more probably, one of these Amazon Local deals. We'd like to find somewhere/someone reliable we could leave him with for short hols.

In the afternoon I popped into town to meet up with ex-colleagues and to catch up on school goss. Jings! I am SO glad I don't have to do that any more! (Work...)

I knew what shot I wanted today, as I was in the area - this is the World's End Pub, near the bottom of the Royal Mile. It's been in the news recently because of murders of two girls in 1977 - 37 years ago. A man was tried, 30 years after the event, but they couldn't pin it on him. But DNA profiling has improved so much since then, they were able to get him this time. And you have to thank the people who so carefully stored the items, not knowing that it would/could provide crucial evidence all those years later. I believe the murderer's DNA was found preserved in the folds of the actual knot.

The 'double jeopardy' law was changed for this case, so that anyone can now be tried again for a crime they have already been acquitted of. There are more cases being looked at.

I bet those involved in the prosecution case had great satisfaction in this result. He got 37 years.

I was challenged by MariB to do five B&W shots, and I had intended to, but I like the yellow lights, so it's not B&W. Maybe tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.