Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Phone whispering...

I had a browse for wifi room thermostats last night, and lo and behold, I found a power company offering a free one, with free installation, if you switch to them. Seems like a good idea, since after my months and months of hassle with my present provider when we first moved here and vowing to switch (but never got round to it) I could kill several birds with one stone (switch providers, cheaper tariff they claim, get a thermostat, free installation).

And so, this morning, I have spent most of it on the computer in a ‘live chat’ then on the phone. OMG! It takes sooo long - they read out everything in a monotone. Sometimes they say, ‘Are you happy to read it yourself when I send the Welcome Pack?’ 'YES!' What a boring job - no wonder they’re monotone.

Anyway, didn’t start too well. Young Anthony didn’t hear my clear enunciation of my post code and just picked up the H of EH.

‘That’s H for Hotel?’
‘Yes.’
‘No such address.’
‘There’s an E there too.’
‘You didn’t say an E.’
‘Yes I did.’
‘No you didn’t.’
‘I live in Edinburgh. Of course I said E-H.’
‘No you didn’t.’

Hmmmm. The customer is always right, Anthony... Especially with their own post code! I wonder if the call was recorded for 'staff training purposes' - it'd be a useful one - on what not to say...

However, by the time we’d both been on the phone, him droning on and on, we warmed to each other. In fact, at one point, Anthony must have thought I had really warmed to him big time...

Archie was getting restive. He kept coming and looking at me pleadingly. Anthony was otherwise engaged, tip tapping away at something and I was patting Archie and whispering in his ear, ’There’s a good boy. Won’t be long now...’ There may have been a few snuggly, gurgly, kissy noises too...

And Anthony said, ‘Are you talking to me?’

‘No! I’m talking to my dog!’

We both had a chuckle.

Job done. I need a coffee. Anthony has to do it all over again. And again. And again.

PS This is Day One of my B&W challenge. Though I was sorely tempted to leave in the the yellow screen...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.