Psalmist with a camera

By jellyfox

Complete Revolution!

.....And its only taken 21 years!!!!

Today, I realised a dream.....seeing a blind child accepted, with no reservations, into a mainstream school to be educated alongside his sighted peers......and because they have been unable to secure a shadow teacher....I have been able to surrender my supply teaching role and take up the mantle!

I'm thrilled, the parents are thrilled and I'll make sure Albert is thrilled!!!

We've had a great day together accessing the curriculum in a way he never thought possible....and its humbling to see his self esteem moving up the barometer.

A definite need for some more resources and lots of improvisation...he has some residual vision...so not a braillist as yet. There's a good deal of mobility vision so he joins in PE....when objects aren't flying around!!!

Our last lesson today was Islamic studies and I can envisage us having some really interesting discussions once he masters the language! Albert is from the Caucasus so speaks only Russian. He was in my ESL class while I was doing the supply cover which is where I first met him. The curriculum at Grade 5 level is not the kindest for non native language speakers.....but we'll get there, and more to the point....we'll have fun doing it!

On top of all that I also got to eat ice cream this evening......so its been a really, really good day!!!

Happy Blipping Everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.