Finished

Today was the big day, the Mountain 2 Mountain.

My parts:
* Ski as fast as you can down Treble Cone
* Bike as fast as you can down the 16km access road, then 8 km up the Matukituki valley
* Team members parts - kayak, run, road bike
* Then I ride 12km/100 vertical metres from the valley floor to Snow Park.

After some threatening weather the day turned out mostly fine. The ski leg went well, except the lower mountain was shrouded in cloud, and I have to admit it was somewhat disconcerting barrelling down a hill at high speed, not entirely knowing where you were going!

The downhill MTB I was somewhat nervous about, very steep, narrow, and as the organiser said - "the road is steep, but it's even steeper if you go off ..." Thankfully it went well and I hit a personal best on bike - 72kph downhill on a dusty steep shingle road. Needless to say Mrs PS wasn't too happy to hear that!.

Then a handoff to my team mate, and after helping him through the transitions 3 hours later I started my ride uphill. 12km, 1000 vertical metres and 1 hr 37 later I made it. Exhausted, but happy to have a cold beer after a total of 5 hrs 12 for our team. Was it worth it? Yes. Would I do it again? Yes, but I'd train more (as usual).

And the photo? Despite skiing, riding etc in one of the most beautiful places in the world, I had to take my hat off to Shaun, whom we shared some logistics with. He did the race himself and made it to the finish line after around 6.5 hours. Totally buggered, but amazingly still smiling.

Hats off to him ;-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.