Waltz

A New Zealand native lynx spider (Oxyopes gracilipes) has captured a hoverfly (Melangyna novaezelandiae), another native.

Lynx spiders are very numerous in my garden. They sit on leaves and flowers and act swiftly if prey comes close. Mostly they go for tiny insects. I often see a little native bee in the clutches of a lynx. This large female has scored a fly that is slimmer, but longer than herself.

I spent a couple of hours sprucing up my car, inside and out, so that it looks cared for when I take it for a warrant of fitness test tomorrow. Since last time I have carried a lot of timber offcuts and the sawdust is devilish to remove from the synthetic fabric on the floor and walls.

A stocktake of my irrigation bits box shows I need buy only a few nozzles to make a new system for the greenhouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.