Fortunate excapee

The food trolly came round and round and round (not always with what I'd filled in yesterday on the order list), I wrote up this journal a bit, I tried watching Narnia and Charlotte Gray but gave up on both of them because of their extreme Britishness. The Scarlet and the Black (starring Gregory Peck from 1988) didn't pass the watch-it test because of Gregory's dreadful mock-Irish accent. I listened to some music on my MacBook as well to pass some more time, all the while looking out at what seemed to be glorious weather and hearing people mention that it was set to be the best day of the year, with temperatures forecast to reach 24º.

My mate Alan came to visit, we had coffee in the hospital café and went outside into the pleasant weather so he could smoke. Back in the ward the TV had been switched on for GAA coverage, while a newly-arrived patient also had his radio tuned in to the exact same coverage. I tried earplugs Carl had brought in, but they weren't enough to block out the intrusive and constant background radio noise. So, naturally, I turned once again to DVDs and my MacBook. This time I selected Arlington Road (Jeff Bridges, Tim Robbins) even though I've already seen it before (more than once). Enjoyed it again, and it all helped pass the time until tea arrived and was cleared away.

I couldn't have timed things worse in terms of actual medical attention. Being a holiday weekend, neither the cardiologist nor ins medical team will be around until Tuesday, so I'm left twiddling my thumbs and doing the best I can to entertain myself and pass the time. Tonight's movie on the MacBook was Chocolat, still as wonderful as ever. I walked from the ward and out through the main entrance hall to the open air and the sunshine a couple of times, once with Carl, at which stage we spotted this fly-away kiddy's balloon and felt a twinge of jealousy because of being confined without any hope of escape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.