antipodean

By antipodean

Grandma's crockery

I actually forgot to take a photo today and was really upset but then realised I'd snapped this one on my phone. Thank goodness!

I went over to Mum's old flat this afternoon to help her pack up the last bits and bobs. At least, I thought it would be bits and bobs but there was a lot more than we realised. The most exciting stuff was my grandmother's crockery and glassware - there is some beautiful stuff there and the awesome thing is that most of it was super cheap when she bought it in the 1940s and 1950s. It's amazing how much has survived, especially since we shipped it all out from London however many years ago. To think, most of this originated at East London market stalls.

Anyway, there was so much stuff that we had to call in reinforcements (aka Dad). There was an absolutely despairingly hilarious moment when I was checking the cupboards and opened one to find piles of plates and bowls that we'd somehow missed. Still, it was quite fun in the end and we got it all packed and moved over to the new flat. Getting from the carpark to Mum's actual flat is a story for another day...

In this photo you can see some of my favourite glasses and crockery. I wish I'd taken my camera with me, but I was worried it would get broken/forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.