SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Right when we woke up

Listening to The Sound by Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson. And All I Want by Kodaline. Re: the former: Gossip Girl is introducing me to so much! Musically and otherwise. Combined with finally getting to the second half of Christopher Hitchens' autobiography, I think it's helping me examine myself and the dualisms in my mind - particularly how my political beliefs contradict my material aspirations... or perhaps they don't. And about ethical relativism... anyway, I won't bore you. Or myself - the latter, at least, has been mulled over in my head so many times before!

Re: the latter... a friend is going through a thing, and I'm not sure what to do. There are things I want to say to help, but I don't want to put my foot in it, or give the wrong advice. Not that this person isn't strong enough to make their own decisions - they're one of the strongest people I know. But I'm worried that my own experiences are going to affect whatever I say or think, or make me try and help in a way that, it'll turn out, is unhelpful. Need to remember that not everyone is like me.

Which is another thing - it recently occurred to me that while I have been comforted to find how many things I have in common with the average member of society (if there is such a thing, which there isn't), there are some that really are just me. And while it's scary to think that nobody has some of my hang-ups, it's nice to know that neurosis doesn't follow everyone else around. Much healthier. I had further thoughts on the matter the other day, but to be honest, I've actually forgotten the details...

Right. So. First day at my new job yesterday! Got a lot to get my head around but I'm in such a nice environment with such helpful people that I think it won't be too tough! Don't want to jinx it so that's all I'll say for now, except (and this is my public declaration):

I am eternally grateful to Mira for her pushing to get me an interview, and for all her help on the job so far - and, I'm sure, in the future. And seeing her at work (although I worry at seeing a friend seem stressed, especially one who doesn't get stressed easily) makes me so proud! And scared at how grown up we're all becoming.

Gym is going well, too. So that's nice. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.