Anniemay

By Anniemay

Profile

Earlier this year we went to an exhibition of Man Ray portraits. Whilst there I bought a copy of this image of Lee Miller and it has been on the wall in my study ever since. He made this photograph using a process called solarisation. The effect is caused by exposing a plate or film to light during developing. Man Ray discovered the technique accidentally in his darkroom. I wanted to try to use a digital recreation of the technique for my profile shot for today’s challenge.

This is small son Daniel. He’s been staying with us since the beginning of October in between working trips to Australia.The sight of my camera usually causes him to disappear quickly and I’ve been unable to get any good shots of him while he’s been here. He’s going back to Australia on Sunday so time is running out. I’ve had to resort to bribery and blackmail to get him to sit for me today. I think it was worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.