Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

9/11

First of all.... I'm so mad at myself! I missed a day. My brother and I were going to see a movie yesterday. I was going to take a photo after the flick, but we ended up not seeing the movie. My brother intended to visit his friends at the Irvine Spectrum for a while, but we didn't manage time well so we just visited his friends. Well long story short, things got crazy and I wasn't able to take a photo for September 10. So sad... didn't miss a day since January.

Anyway, on a more serious note. September 11. I can't believe it's been eight years. I was only a freshman in high school. The first thing I remembered was turning on the radio to listen to a local radio show I always listened to while getting ready to go to school. Ellen K, one of the hosts, says a plane hit the World Trade Center. I didn't know what to think. Later, I turned on the computer, signed online to AOL and saw an image with a burning world trade center and a plane flying straight at it.

The second or third class of the day, during SSR (silent sustained reading), our teacher put on the TV and we watched the news about the events. It was terrible to see such disaster happening in New York City. I didn't know how to react. I was stunned by all the destruction, mayhem, and chaos.

Eight years later as I reflect on the events of September 11, 2001, I feel the hurt, pain, lost, and so much more that occurred that day. Watching television programs about that day, I put myself into the shoes' of the people who survived the day. I imagine running down flights of stairs to survive. Running, screaming, tumbling and trying to help others survive.

It was such a tragedy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.