Light and Cloud

Finally...rain! Ozzie and I took advantage of a break to go for a walk. Sticking to streets, the subdivision didn't have much to offer in the way of blips. As soon as we got home the rain began again, so I decided to see what I could get through the window. Compared to our former house... a dark, old, Craftsman, redwood paneled with small windows, this house is filled with light, even when it is cloudy and rainy outside. I liked this shot through the kitchen window, contrasting with the light from the old fashioned Edison bulb hanging over the counter. The sun has come out now, and the sky is beautiful but the same picture out the kitchen doesn't have the rich color and the mist across the hills.

When I wasn't playing with the light and the camera I played with our remote controlled fireplace...a novel concept. Sure beats the old days in Edinburgh when I struggled to light a pathetic little pile of "smokeless" coal in the fireplace of our huge, freezing living room. Cozier too, although I'm not convinced the flames look "real". OilMan says it's just because I'm used to the campfires we used to sit around in the Sierra, when it was too early to go to bed and too cold to stay up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.