Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Surprise

The thermometer hit -4 this morning. Most of the day has been miserably wet, not to mention a heavy hail storm in the morning. Taking advantage of clear sky for a couple of hours in the afternoon, I ditched the work and ran out with the dogs. The wind was bitter but the sun was surprisingly warm. In a sheltered spot, this Peacock Butterfly was lapping up the rays on a log.

It was a colourful treat to find it, given the mornings ice. Peacocks overwinter as adults. Camouflaged like curled and dried leaves, they hide away in crevices, often in a shed or roof space, to hibernate until the spring. If the sun is warm, however, they're quick to take advantage and will come out from their secretion at any time throughout the winter. I'm not sure this ones timing was ideal.

Full house tonight as my sister, mother are travelling down from Scotland and my niece is joining us from London. Not the full girly evening as I have to go to work but tomorrow we're all going together to see baby Sholto and to celebrate Mother's 85th Birthday. Now where did I hide her birthday present?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.