Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Panic Over. Flying ducks found.

The diet is on hold. Can’t start a diet when I’m taking my humungous pink pills three times a day with food. Phew!

And guess what - the old knees feel almost normal again! Well, I haven’t tried kneeling down, or running for a bus - don’t want to spook them, but after five of those pink gobstoppers, they do feel better.

Why, I even walked up the Playfair Steps. There are about a hundred of them (though I’ve never counted) and are to be avoided at all costs - going up anyway. I only had four stops to catch my breath and rest my legs take photos.

Nearly blipped a man in a kilt and very hairy sporran. I saw him coming and I was sure he was an American, here to trace his ancestry. No, a local. Ronnie. We had a chat about the new layout of the ‘Winter Wonderland’. Ronnie is not a fan of the ice rink up by Sir Walter and the Big Wheel moved. He let me take a photo (‘New camera’ etc).

Walked up to the High Street. (Those knees must be feeling better!) and heard the lovely sound of the ukelele player. I took loads of photos and gave her my change. She even sold a CD when I was there, but still didn’t smile at her customer. But she’s very very good.

Spotted a scene down one of the closes and went to take a photo, but when I turned back, I found a better view, with St Giles in the frame.

JR wants to make muffins for visitors on Saturday, and I was tasked with finding the muffin tin. There are still many boxes unopened because we are awaiting a kitchen cabinet type thing. Would the muffin tin be in a box marked ‘Muffin tin’ or ‘Assorted’ or just ‘Kitchen’? I looked in one marked ‘Phrenology Head’ and found the phrenology head, and joy of joys - the flying ducks for the wall!

But no muffin tin was found before I lost interest in moving big boxes to get at underneath ones.

I could just buy another muffin tin. It would be easier.

Or just buy some muffins, even easier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.