sk8er boi

'he was a punk, she did ballet'

Here is D at Kingholm Quay skate park. All the sk8er boys are at school so we can play around and take photos. I love watching skateboarders, how they make concentration look casual and cool, how they spend hour after hour perfecting those skills. I like the clacky sound of the wheels and the clatter of a falling board, the way those boys (and they are usually boys) get straight back on when they fall off. It's a shame, I think, that they are relegated to this out of town site. I would like to watch the boarders at Dock Park, which with its £million refurbishment is looking too genteel for this graffiti.

We took a stroll through Dock Park on our way to the Swan and checked out the new Peter Pan/Captain Hook style playground. I bet the kids will love it but Sk8er boi is disappointed that there is no longer anywhere for him to do his morning chin ups...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.