lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

A Year of Loving Sutton

Well, a year ago today, I posted in my "about":

Have just moved back here after 24 years in NE Brazil, and hoping that taking a daily photo will help me fall in love with suburbia, like I did with the Sertão...

So - is it mission accomplished? Not sure I've actually "fallen in love" with this place, but have certainly found a lot more beauty in it than I ever dreamed of, and do feel privileged in so many ways to have lived here for this season.

What I HAVE fallen in love with is Blipfoto! What a place and what wonderful folk you are - am I 'sad' for feeling like folk I've never met (apart from those I knew already) are really my friends?? I know this is the phenomenon of the internet, and I have derided the idea of virtual friends, and yet, looking at a daily frame of your lives and you looking at mine, and exchanging kind comments, and sometimes, even saying a prayer for you, it seems as though, in some ways, we are closer than some folk I see here in Sutton every week.

Anyway, thanks to each of you who has looked at my journal, and thank-you for all the beauty and life (and music!)you have shared with me. And, finally, thanks to my battered little Olympus bridge camera - see the lid mended by M with duct tape? There's not been a day in the last year that you've not been in my hands.

Will I carry on now the year is over? You bet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.