And We Will Dance Together...

In the city of our God,
Because of You...


Today, went to the Thanksgiving Service for a very special person, Elon (1959-2014). He was abandoned by his parents while still a baby, and spent his whole life trying to find a family. His other great desire was to be a famous rock-and-roll star, like his hero, Elvis - the service both began and ended with Elvis songs.

Well, our pastor said he'd never seen the crem so full - as was the church - full of people from all sorts of places who loved him and were his family - both black and white women got up and said he'd asked them to be his Mum. After he died, and trying to arrange his funeral, it was discovered that four different churches of four different denominations believed he was a member of their church. Not to mention that when I first knew him, we were both members of yet another denomination.

Feel like there's some lesson to be learned from a man who most folk felt sorry for, and yet who drew more folk together from more diverse walks of life than any of us more "unspecial" people...

(Oh dear, just realized I've reached two years of Blip - and had all sorts of plans for this - too late now - so all I can say is that I will try to get something more special tomorrow, and that my only problem with Blip is that maybe I love it too much! Love getting a photo every day and the way it makes me appreciate this precious life more; love the glimpses into your lives; love the (mainly) daily connection with folk I love; and especially love the way people on this site are invariably kind - I am very grateful for each of you who shares my life - and whose life I share - in this way.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.