Mikey88

By Mikey88

Granite

Sitting in the middle of the River Meavy, the colours and textures of this granite boulder contrast beautifully with the flow of the water. It is just downstream from the popular beauty spot of Cadover Bridge and lots of families picnic there. If you look carefully, there is a lost tennis ball nestled on the bank, and I noticed a couple more as I walked along the river - obviously lost during games of cricket!

I went on this walk as I had been to deliver a set of cards to my hairdresser and Cadover Bridge was just about on the way back. The walk itself was described in 'Outdoor Photography' magazine's feature on locations, so I thought I would give it a try. I was a bit late for the colour of the autumn leaves, but was still pleased with the pictures I took.

Sadly, we have lost anothe large branch from the buddleia. It must be on its last legs, because this is the second main branch to go in the last month, It's going to look a bit lopsided next summer, although they do seem to recover from severe pruning, so perhaps it won't look too bad.

Very cold day today. The wind was really strong and felt like a knife. It was not too bad along the river bank, as it was flowing down a bit of a gorge and was quite sheltered, but it was a bit sharp walking back along across the car park when I came out of the woods.

Cold again tomorrow. Down to three degrees at the moment. The heating is working overtime! Hope you are coping with the cold wherever you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.