WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Dusk

... with mazet and tractor (large). And power lines, which I did not remove!

I wouldn't have liked to be out there pruning today. It was 4C, but the wind was blowing straight off the snow-covered Pyrenees. I gave myself five minutes out of the car on my way back from choir practice, and this was the best of what I took -- the light was not good, as it had started to cloud over. There were even a few flakes of snow.

So an evening by the fire beckons. We were glad we made an effort to go out yesterday though. The film about Chet Baker, Let's Get Lost was interesting; although I'm familiar with the music I knew nothing about the person. He was no angel, it has to be said; despite his drug addiction, gorgeous women constantly flung themselves at him and were discarded at will, he had children and abandoned them, and ended his life falling out of a hotel window in Amsterdam not long after the film was completed. He was 58, but looked 70, his face ravaged by drugs and the loss of all his teeth in a punch-up in the 1960s -- an event which caused serious damage to his career as a trumpeter. He spent three years learning to play again, while working at odd jobs to fund the drug habit.

The director of the film, Bruce Weber, is a fashion photographer, and it was beautifully shot in high-contrast, grainy black and white. It was actual film too, as opposed to digital; they'd had to dust off the 35mm projector for the occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.