WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Fluid

Well, there's only one kind that matters around here. Although I suppose I could have taken a photo of the drizzling rain instead, for DDW's November challenge.

I know many blippers like to set up water drips. I decided on wine drips. I set up my tripod in front of the fire and found it's not as easy as it looks. Using both the remote and the timer, I poured before the shutter opened, after it closed, but rarely when it was open. I poured wine on the tablecloth while watching the flashing light on the camera instead of where I was pouring. I spilt it on the floor while I was trying to stop it spreading to my computer. After I'd mopped up, I looked at the photos and the only one I half liked was the test shot I did before I poured anything at all. So it goes. It was a good opportunity to try manual focus while zooming in live view, which turned out to work really well.

Then we drank the wine with dinner of course. And now we're off to the cinema to see a film about Chet Baker, showing as part of the local jazz festival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.