WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Country life

Back to the normal round today. It was a grey day, so I went out looking for colour contrasts. The first thing I saw, or rather heard, was about 100 cranes flying overhead. I hadn't even got the camera out of my bag at that point, and by the time I did they were too far away and were just a pattern of vaguely bird-like shapes in my photo. So instead here's a photo of some cranes flying over Arizkun, that I took in the summer. And for today I fell back on the safe option of a lone tree -- one that hasn't featured before though. Notice how I cunningly hid the pylon behind the tree, and then couldn't be bothered to clone out the cables.

Back at home, our neighbour's son had given us some cutlets from a wild boar ... basically bits of bone with scraps of meat clinging to them. He suggested barbecuing them, but that didn't seem to be an option in this weather. Instead I roasted them, and disguised their lack of gastronomic interest with a sauce made largely of red wine with onions, garlic, carrot, juniper berries, and a random mix of spices. Tough as old boots even after roasting for 40 minutes, but the sauce was good. Pudding was pancakes made with excess sourdough starter -- delicious with maple syrup and cream.

Yesterday's photo of Carcassonne has just made it to the spotlight -- amazing! Thanks for the hearts and stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.