But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The By-Pass.

The song, “It Was Just One of Those Days” rattled around inside my skull for most of the day.
It all started with me oversleeping and deciding that I would pick up a filled roll on the way to the start of the cycle run, there’s a good baker’s shop that I pass on the way. Just as I was leaving home I noticed that the tyre I’d repaired late last night was flat and so, rather than fix an unknown fault, I hurriedly started to prepare my “racing” bike (any respectable racing cyclist would call it his “winter training” bike) but couldn’t find the wheels.

Cutting a long story short, I eventually arrived only a few minutes late without a tool kit or any food and, after hasty apologies, started the run.
We had not gone but a few miles up the road when a young lady had a puncture, another hawthorn, which led to the inevitable discussion about which part of the tyre you start to remove from the wheel first; this was followed by the discussion about which part of the tyre you replace on the wheel last. The gathering throng were having difficulty fitting the tyre and the debate heated up, by the time they had reached some vague sort of consensus I had completed the task and was feeling a little smug.

A few miles further on, another young lady found the only patch of ice we saw all day and chose to fall off. The indignity was worse that the damage and, once on the move again, I did take the trouble to make sure she really was alright.

When we arrived at lunch, I purchased some sandwiches from a local food emporium - they were truly disgusting; there was nothing in the offered selection that wasn’t based mainly on a variety of mayonnaise manufactured solely from ingredients that exist only as “E” numbers.

The day’s good news was that we did find two new coffee shops (some of us tried one and some, the other) and they both passed muster.

Not having much chance of photography during the day, I grabbed this blip of the by-pass on the way home. That’s another of my bankers used.


I’ve just posted yesterday’s blip, “£15.99 Each.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.