Poppies

Took the boys to church this morning, dropped Bean off at his group, took Bear to his group, stayed and ended up cutting out poppy leaves and helping children make poppies. This one is Bear's. The tree just outside mum and dad's kitchen window is this awesome colour this time of year. Not yellow, not red; but this incredible multi-orange colour. It's stunning.

On the way home from church the boys sang their hearts out and as I recognised the time being 11am I gave thanks for the freedom they have to do just that. I may not agree with war, I may find myself becoming more and more anti-establishment in my middle age, but that doesn't stop me being immensely grateful for those who fought and died to protect our freedom to peacefully exist.

Lest we forget. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.