The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Lacock

I had several reasons to return to Lacock, the first of which was to have a look around No. 2 High Street, a National Trust holiday cottage which was open to the public briefly at the end of the season. I was using only my 50mm lens as a challenge but it proved to be the wrong lens for the small rooms and I only got a few shots.

I then wandered up the High Street past the post office to The George to try out the specially brewed Wadworth's Talbot Tipple, in honour of Fox Talbot. On the way I encountered this splendid cat studiously ignoring me. He did allow me to stroke him but affected surprise when my hand reached the top of his head. I have seen the same cat hanging out beside the churchyard but have never managed to get so close before.

Unfortunately, the barmaid at the pub spent so long dealing with the requests of some tourists on the way out that they had closed for business by the time she got to me, as they shut between three and six, apparently. However, it turned out they had only had the Talbot Tipple for a brief period to celebrate the anniversary of his birth, and no longer had it on draught, so I have made an entry in my 2014 diary.

I wanted to pick up the leaflet that itemised the Strata sculptures I had seen on my last visit to Lacock Abbey as they had been closed by the time I left, and having done so, I took in a new photographic exhibition of astronomical subjects and had a further wander around the grounds and took some more autumnal shots, irresistible as the trees are so magnificently mature and rich in colour, and a few more of the wooden sculptures. These are surprisingly delicate given that they were created with the aid of a chainsaw.

L.
23.11.2013

Blip #1099
Consecutive Blip #002
Day #1329

Alternatives:
Lacock Abbey
Distant Church
Sumptuous Leaves
'Strata' sculptures by Anthony Rogers - Vestiges (Oak)

Lacock and Anthony Rogers' Strata sculptures, 7/13/17 November 2013 (Flickr set)

Lenses: Pentax 50mm f1.8, Pentax 55-300mm

Cats series
Lacock series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Morrissey - The More You Ignore Me The Closer I Get (1994)

One year ago: Bowood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.