It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

2 Days. 3 legends

It's been a busy day, non-stop in fact.

After a quick breakfast, we pedalled along to Cramond for Parkrun. Only 5 minutes to get my trainers on and switch the running muscles on. Rosemary had a calf niggle so looked after me instead.

The 1st km felt hard and I was surprised how quick I did it in. 3min 46sec. My ventilation was a bit high so I backed off a little. Next one was 4min 2sec and just as hard. I dug deep, pulling the air into my lungs and concentrated on staying relaxed. I slowed considerably on the 3rd one, partly as there is a slight incline to get over. It was so hard for the final 2km, with my breathing beyond the point of total control and my legs starting to wobble. I didn't have a kick in me but didn't slow either. Bloody yes! A new PB for Parkrun of 20min 20sec! Much faster than expected.

Wow.....I turned round and saw the legend that is Scott Balfour behind me. It had taken 20 years to beat my hero and I jokingly jumped in the air with faux joy. But I was more happy just seeing the man that I entrust to coach my beloved and from getting a PB. I was grateful that rosemary had insisted that I pack loads of warm clothes as the cold started to set in rapidly. We pedalled along to a wee cafe in Cramond and I was pleased to see they had the wood burner on. Toasty. Ha ha...Scott and his wife walked in unexpectedly and we had taken their favourite seats. It was great to natter about old times.

Rosemary and I then headed out through the Dalmeny Estate on the bikes, through 'the ferry' and on to Port Edgar. I was gutted that I didn't have my camera as the light was amazing. We then headed to Craigie's Farm for lunch and were certainly ready for it. The ride home was tougher than expected as our legs had started to give up. R was ready to sleep but I wanted to go up to see the new Storck Bikes that John Anderson was showing in his 'private appointment' bike shop. Hmmm, the £11k TT bike was very nice and ideal for Rosemary but just a tad too expensive. I really went to see John anyway as I get less excited about bike bling than I used to.

We then headed of to a favourite, Tanjour, the wonderful South Indian restaurant. I had these pancake thingies with a fragrant curry and R had a blow your head off aubergine dish. She had a disgusting pudding of sweet cardamom custard with vermicelli. It was like worms swimming in gloop and had a horrible mouth feel. She loved it though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.