Happy Hummer

I kept the hummingbird feeders in again last night and this morning there was still ice everywhere. It was a bit warmer so I expect I'll soon be able to leave them out overnight again. This morning I spent time on the deck photographing the birds before working on my computer and going shopping for the coming week's provisions with Helena and Arvin. The hummers are quite relaxed with me around and the female was happy to frequent the smaller feeder while I was on the deck with my camera. She was less relaxed about the bigger birds, so most of the time I heard her but didn't see her. When she did come she enjoyed the nectar and seemed as relaxed as a hummingbird can be, which isn't very.

Last year I videotaped a mother and baby hummingbird and made an 11 minute video which I posted on Youtube. You can watch it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.