Frosty Leaves

More cold weather here. It always amazes me when we are colder than the East Coast where I used to live. Seems unnatural to me. But it froze again last night deeply. The bird's water was one solid block of ice. I brought in the hummer feeders and put them back up when I woke at 8:15 this morning. The hummers came immediately. I did take some photos of them but then I went for a cold walk behind the house and took frost pictures. That was two hours after I had fed the birds and there was still frost everywhere there was shade. The sun was shining too and that warmed my heart even though the day was still really cold. Here is the large version of these leaves.

Today Arvin and I are getting haircuts and my brown is getting refreshed. Thanks to my niece Jennifer I'm a chestnut brown-red head these days. :) And thanks to Mikki here in Bellingham who does the hairdo for me now. She is a sweetie too.

Thoughts on the 50th anniversary of Kennedy's assassination:

I was a senior in college, just returned from a semester (and a summer) abroad, and having trouble fitting back into the restrictions of dorm living and small college life in Southern California after nine months of being on my own in England and Europe.

I was in art class, working on a wax sculpture of a small head when somebody came in and announced that Kennedy had been shot. What a horrific day. None of us could get our minds around what had happened. Everything was different after that day. We sat around the TV in the lounge area of the dorm where I lived and watched for days. It was a very sad and scary time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.