Waiting for Breakfast to Thaw

I had a hard time choosing which photo to blip today. The day began early as we had four appointments scheduled for today, the first at 9 am and the last at 4:30 pm. Turned out to be a blessing in disguise as the day began with a beautiful sunrise over the lake.

I went out to take some photos and noticed the high pitched voice of a hummingbird, no two hummingbirds, one near each of our feeders. It was then that I realized that both feeders were frozen solid.

There was a female hummer complaining bitterly on the large feeder by the window and a male with a very loud voice on the smaller feeder. Both would complain, try to get a drink, and then sit very still waiting, and then start again. I think that the quiet times they were in torpor, a sleep-like state when their metabolism slows down.

I took quite a few photos and then went in to make a small batch of nectar to put in a glass and set on the deck table for them. I hoped they would drink from it but they didn't. They buzzed it but didn't stop to take a drink. Eventually the sun did creep out and by late morning had warmed and thawed the feeders. Both birds, and several other females came to drink their fill.

I took more photos but decided I liked this one and this one the best. Hard to decide but I chose the one you see here in large because it also showed the beautiful sunrise.

I think the birds did realize I was trying to help them because later when the feeders thawed, the birds stayed close by and didn't seem frightened of me at all. This evening I took in both feeders and will return them to the deck tomorrow morning. We are going to have another hard freeze tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.