South Coast Shimmy

Undulating sea,
Waves of cream lace and chiffon,
Shot with passion red.


A fabulous afternoon at an bellydance event called South Coast Shimmy with dancers from all around the area to get together to celebrate belly dance in all sorts of different styles. It was truly inspirational and uplifting.

Many people have pre-conceived ideas about bellydance, but it is not necessarily what people think.... it's really just a celebration of womanhood, life and music. There were women (and men) of all shapes, sizes and ages, with many different styles of dance, all were cheered and applauded for getting up there and sharing their joy.

I danced with my group and also did a solo(!). I came home exhausted, but buzzing.

This picture isn't brilliant quality, but I just liked it! More pics here

Update I changed the picture, as I though I should perhaps show some dancers.... this is a troupe from Eastbourne called the Sea Gypsies

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.