Capital adventures

By marchmont

A sign

I was up early in case T came - he didn't. I finally managed to get past chapter 35 of the book I'm listening to. I keep falling asleep, or just drifting off. So no T meant off to the pool for the 30 minute swim. I am very slow. Years ago could swim a mile on a Saturday morning, 65 minutes, still slow but now I reckon that would take me nearer 2 hours.

After the Commie Pool it was Homebase, to take back an incomplete item. Then to Sainsbuy's for the planned wheek round. Except there was no wheek and I was there for ages, mainly in the clothes bit.

By the time I got home I'd been away 3 hours. The plan for today was to take back the unwanted clothes to the downtown shops and then partake in the switch on proceedings. But it was cold and my back was killing me and the thought of walking round on my own did not fill me with joy.

And I had lots to do at home, or so I told myself. #2 son got up and whizzed off to St Leonard's before I'd had a chance to empty the car. Off with the shopping and my purse. When he came back he was regretting his honesty somewhat. I'm regretting the fact he didn't get some advice before he left and I hope there is no outcome.

So what DID I do this afternoon. A very little ironing, put away clothes (and moved the summer stuff down the wardrobe), started Tuesday's meal, froze soup and eventually, much later, spoke to J. They are generously managing to fit me in on their last night here, having seen everyone else in the family, sometimes more than once.

#2 son has eaten all the chicken. We phoned for a carry out. The joys of Just Eat.

I had planned to blip the start of the Christmas jollity but then I didn't go so on my way back from an emergency blip of Molly the wonder cat, wrapped up in #2 son's duvet, I spotted the sign on my bookcase. Brought back from Houston, I think, on M's last trip. He was making a point. Now I have a laptop, a tablet and a smartphone it still rings pretty true, although on second thoughts I've never prioritised a clean house (but I have ordered a carpet sweeper today).

And Christmas IS coming. The sign is 'Mistletoe and Wine' heard for the first time this year at Cameron Toll - 30 days, and many many hearings, to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.