dsparks83

By dsparks83

Barcelooooona!

I took this picture flying over on the way to Majorca and then coincidentally in the car on the way home the Freddie Mercury Montserrat Caballe song was on the radio. As I'm sure with most people it'll remind them of the 1992 Barcelona olympic games which apparently helped to massively transform the face of the city below.
I'm sure most people who follow any form of sport remember the really big events that they were first aware of, such as a football world cup (USA '94, although I recall Italia 90 happening) and for me the Barcelona olympics was one of those, in fact the Barcelona games was possibly the first major world sporting event of any kind I remember following. I'm sure I was aware of events before then but I hadn't really followed them at all.
I can still remember back to the British olympians of the era, Linford Christie, Sally Gunnell, Colin Jackson, Kris Akabusi, Roger Black, Chris Boardman, Steve Redgrave. It's where my olympic memories began.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.