Sevan

By Sevan

Domestique

Day 13
Distance: 96.83 km, Top Speed: 68.1 kmph.

Soon after my freezing cold high altitude breakfast in Ax-les-Thermes I set off for my final ascent into Andorra. Granted, the physical aspect of the climb was fairly demanding, but the mental aspect was a joke! The sun was out, the views were incredible, and every other driver seemed to beep encouragingly at me as I passed. My water situation got a little sketchy at one point, but cycling seems to be woven into the French genetics and I was able to fill up again in the house of yet another hospitable local.

By mid-morning I had reached Pas de la Casa, the first city on the French side. From here it was another ~30 minutes cycle to the peak at 2,408 metres above sea level.

En route, I passed some extremely enthusiastic (drunk) tourists, one of whom ran alongside me and proffered me a vodka bottle as if it was water and I was taking part in a race. I gladly accepted this much needed refreshment.

On the way down I acquired a new "combed back" look, courtesy of my greasy hair and high speed descent. I probably could have counted the number of times I had to peddle on one hand as I free wheeled across the border into Spain.

Three countries in one day on a bike! A new personal best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.