Sevan

By Sevan

Between a Cemetery and some Railway Tracks

Day 4
Distance: ?? km, Top Speed: ?? kmph.

...and here it is!

About a third of the way into my day, I realised my back wheel had started to buckle due to a combination of weight, and the age of the bike (somewhere between 50 and 60 years at a guess). The bike was unrideable.

I walked ~10km (judged by road signs), and was eventually picked up by a Frenchman, who drove me ~3km to the nearest town of Bessé-sur-Braye, where my bike was "fixed". He refused to accept any money for his lift, and even gave me a spare inner tube and offered to help pay for my repairs!

As the day went on, the back wheel started to deteriorate again. The nearby forests didn't look suitable for camping, so I asked another Frenchman if I could camp in his garden. He said yes, and to my surprise also offered me a shower, the use of his internet and a three course meal (hot food!) with him, his wife and three children.

Later in the evening he left with the youngest child, leaving me, a haggard and smelly stranger, alone with his wife and two other children. Such trust!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.