Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Halfway Home

This is the Sugar Beet factory at Newark. It signals the halfway point of my journey from Leicestershire to my true home of Yorkshire. It's in full production at the moment, and it brings back memories of when we used to have a factory like this in York, and in the autumn there was a very distinctive sweet aroma in the air, which was great on a crisp clear autumn morning in the city.

I used to love the Sugar Beet season as it meant big machines working in the fields behind my house, and when I was a bit older I got to help out one year with the harvest as well as the potato harvest.

The reason I've made this trip north is that it is my Granddad's funeral on Tuesday, so my comments may be slow this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.