Haikography

By JanBee

Scarlet Hips

Shining scarlet beads,
Like a discarded necklace,
Tangled in the thorns.


These berries really caught my eye this morning - such a strong vibrant colour. I haven't done any colour enhancement, they really were this bright in the sunlight.

Seeing these got me thinking; birds must have colour vision in order to respond these signals from nature.... so I looked it up (here) and discovered that not only do they have highly developed colour vision, but they can also see ultra violet light ..... (apart from night birds and owls, who apparently can't see the colour blue) ... amazing.

Then I thought - so why is it that birds can see in colour but dogs can't? Well apparently they can, to a limited extent ..... (see here).

What a lot I have learnt today ......

(now I am musing about whether "Scarlet Hips" would be a good name for a belly dance troupe....).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.