The lost heron

I approach unseen,
Each step crunching frosted grass.
The heron swoops low.
Lake mirror opaque with ice,
Beneath fire-tinged branches.


A beautiful morning. clear blue skies, frosted grass and ice on the lakes. The heron was sitting on a branch of the tree in the middle foreground. I crept forward, zoom lens at the ready. I have to put the Mrs Woo on the lead near the lakes as she will go after the ducks ...... not that they are in any danger as they can fly and she can't, but she'll just swim up and down after them until she's exhausted.... anyway, I digress, we crept towards the heron, but I think the combined crunch of paw and foot was too much and it flew off. This was the best I could do in the circumstances (ie. holding dog lead with one hand and camera in the other). That dastardly dawg!!!

This was the alternative for today. Couldn't decide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.