Bat's Hole

Near Durdle Door, South Dorset. I really don't like typing on the Blipfoto App, so I'm hoping I can add a little more to this entry via the main browser window. At least I get a slightly wider keypad this way!

I took lots of photos this afternoon. I thought the day was going to stay dull and I left my main camera in the hotel room (well I forgot it) and then we had this really good light for a couple of hours. I wasn't sure what to post and I've tried one or two but ended up with this one.

My/ our first visit here. Now if I'd trained as a proper geographer I would have done a field trip here but as I only became a geographer by adoption it has taken me until I retired to make the trip. And a very good visit it's been today. We spent quite a bit of time on the beach at Durdle Door and then took the coastal path to Lulworth Cove. Coming back was a bit of s struggle (note to self - it's time to get some walking practice in). Lulworth was a bit disappointing but maybe that's because the light had gone from parts of the bay.

No birds photos but it was a good day for spotting them:
- a black male pheasant crossed the road in front of the car on both outward and inward journeys ( we' ve seen very dark ones at home but not actually black.
- a young peregrine falcon obligingly posed on a post for a young man with a long lense for a good 5 mins.
- there were stonechats everywhere and meadow pipits on the beach and an opulence of robins too. (Thanks to the spell checker for almost suggesting opulence - I liked it!)
A pity I had the wrong camera with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.