Wo die Blumen sind

By Rebelblume

Big things in tiny towns

The renovated wind mill Adriaan (also here once early in the morning), where my neigbour across from me is painting the amazing panaroma of Haarlem in the 17th century, from which you can see a detail here. I went to the mill because I knew he was painting there, to warn him that his worst fears had come true. The huge chestnut tree he loves looking at from his upstairs window, and which is behind my garden, has been chopped down today. It was always full of all kinds of birds, and even bats were living there. He'd been watching the paper for the due date for protesting against felling permission, but it hadn't appeared yet. We don't know what happened. I took a photo of the tree with the tree feller in it, but it's too sad for a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.