DaveH

By DaveH

Colonies

Another lovely day, today.
I went to my mate CJ's to pick up some loppers so I could take a foot or so off a privet hedge in the garden I look after.

CJ lives in a Colony house so I blipped the row, for my architect brother in law, Mike :o)

For anyone not in Edinburgh, the Colonies are rows of houses built by a housing co-operative in the late 19th century. They were intended to provide good, cheap accommodation for working class families.

They are double flats (upper and lower apartments) and the lovely thing is that the front door of each upper flat is on the opposite side of the building to the lower, so each flat gets its own front garden.

You can probably make out the upper front doors in the blip. They own the gardens this side.

The lanes between every second row of colonies are really narrow, and must make moving in, or getting a new fridge delivered, a nightmare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.